Press on…

Today has been a productive (read: long) day. At this point in time, I would love nothing more than to crawl into bed with a good book and take a quick nap. I forgot how much cutting carbs makes you drag – but I have 10 days before I am in Chicago with my mom trying on impossibly tiny wedding dresses – so press on I must.

There were a list of things that I had to accomplish today, time sensitive things, but as has been the norm for the last 2 years, when my advisor says “jump” I ask “how high” (and wait to react negatively until he is safely back in his office). The edits on my thesis have to be wrapped up, and he would like them done by the end of the week. This is fine, I am all about getting everything that I can done, but there’s something about sitting in the lab and watching the clock, knowing that he wants to spend the whole night wrapping up the results section that makes me want to scream. But again…press on.

This morning was fantastic though, it was a little cool and breezy, just perfect for jogging pants and a sweatshirt. The pup and I headed out for a long morning walk which, if his tail was any indication, he was in full support of. We walked from the house to Kinney, down to Broadway, over to Crapo, to Preston all the way to West Campus and followed it around to Bellows then home. Translation for anyone residing out of the greater Mt. P area: a long f’ing way. We were out for a solid hour.15, which was the goal. Currently he’s pooped out in his crate, belly full of brand new (3 day-old) flip-flops, wondering how he was so lucky to be able to chase squirrels, sprinklers, and other dogs this morning!

I spent the better part of the day at the U-Cup, avoiding the lab and getting too little done. But I’m sure to make up for it tonight. On a side note, the new Pomegranet Green (tea) is phenomenal – a must try for anyone avoiding coffee, looking for the heath benefits of poms and green tea, and girly-girls who like fruity cutesy things (as it comes out bright pink)! Once I am out of here, Echo will be enjoying another long walk (see – mommy gets in shape, the dummy gets tuckered out) with Jen. From there I think I may be talked into dancing, which is fine with me considering the great health benefits of cardio, or I may back out and clean-clean-clean. Either way, I have a long-standing love affair with soda water and lime which I am more than willing to entertain as the night progresses.

Leave a Reply

