…just like the ones I used to know…

1223_christmaslights1

Christmas Lights

Well, it’s starting to feel more and more like Christmas. Thank God.

I, my incredibly selfish self, was starting to get a bit bummed out. Rory moved out with all of his furniture, so we’ve been living on camp chairs and a temperpedic bed with no end in sight (i.e. not knowing when we are going to head to North Carolina). However, a certain Marine came through and we spent tonight hanging lights, decorating a small tree, and listening to Elvis sing “Blue Christmas”.

…Joe only has one Christmas song on his play list…

And who would have thought that something as simple as twinkle lights and a handsome Marine would happy this Grinch up??? 🙂

So, I have 10 Christmas cards to send out. I’m sorry if you aren’t on the list. It’s been too hectic to get it all together for this Christmas, and I promise a good ‘ole fashioned Currier and Ives Christmas next time around!!! I told Joe that we are going to be having SUPER Christmas next year!!!! Complete with family and presents, and *maybe* snow!

Back to this year, though. I can’t wait to go present shopping! I know, *gasp*, we haven’t done it yet. Whatever. We decided to skip presents for everyone this year and shop for Toys for Tots. The Marine Corps does a lot of good with this program, and we would like to do what we can to help out! Also, since it’s just going to be the two of us this year, we’re going to find some place to spend our time…I’m thinking soup kitchen or a children’s hospital. Either way, I just think getting back to the heart of the Christmas season will be good for our souls.  

I will get edited pics up tomorrow of our super sweet and empty apartment:)

And when I sit and think about it, I really do think that this will be in the running for my favorite Christmas in years to come…there’s just something about it that already makes me smile!

I hope that everyone has a joyous holiday season, safe travels, and takes the time to enjoy those they love.

…may your day be merry and bright, and all your Christmases white…

snowflake

Leave a Reply

